MINUTES OF THE ANNUAL MEETING OF THE COUNCIL held at the Guildhall, Portsmouth on Tuesday, 15 May 2018 at 10.00 am.

#### **Council Members Present**

The Right Worshipful The Lord Mayor Councillor Ken Ellcome (in the Chair)

Councillors

Dave Ashmore Simon Bosher Jennie Brent **Ryan Brent** Tom Coles Yahiya Chowdhury Ben Dowling Jason Fazackarley John Ferrett George Fielding James Fleming **David Fuller** Scott Payter-Harris Hannah Hockaday Jo Hooper Suzv Horton Frank Jonas BEM Donna Jones Ian Lyon Leo Madden Hugh Mason

Lee Mason Stephen Morgan MP Gemma New Robert New Steve Pitt Will Purvis **Darren Sanders** Jeanette Smith Judith Smyth Lynne Stagg Luke Stubbs Ben Swann David Tompkins Claire Udy Gerald Vernon-Jackson CBE Steve Wemvss Matthew Winnington Neill Young Rob Wood Tom Wood

The Lord Mayor welcomed everyone to the meeting.

### 28. Vote of Thanks to Retiring Lord Mayor and Lady Mayoress

It was

Proposed by Councillor Donna Jones Seconded by Councillor Simon Bosher

That a vote of thanks be given to the retiring Lord Mayor and Lady Mayoress.

It was RESOLVED unanimously that the council places on record its sincere thanks to Councillor Ken Ellcome and Mrs Jo Ellcome for their outstanding service to the city as Lord Mayor and Lady Mayoress during their year of office.

#### 2 15 May 2018

That the council expresses its great appreciation of the fine qualities which Councillor Ken Ellcome has brought to the conduct of the business of this Council, his devotion to duty and the distinction and goodwill with which he carried out the many and various duties of the office of Lord Mayor.

That the Council also places on record its gratitude to Mrs Jo Ellcome who also gave her untiring support and help as Lady Mayoress to the Lord Mayor.

That this resolution be engrossed and be presented to Councillor Ken Ellcome and Mrs Jo Ellcome at this ceremony.

The retiring Lord Mayor was presented with the Council's gift of an engrossed scroll which signifies the Council's appreciation of his time in office.

## 29. Election of the Lord Mayor for the ensuing Municipal Year

Councillor Donna Jones nominated Councillor Lee Mason for election to the Office of Lord Mayor for the ensuing Municipal Year. The nomination was seconded by Councillor Hannah Hockaday.

There being no other nominations, the Lord Mayor put the proposal which was CARRIED unanimously and he declared Councillor Lee Mason duly elected Lord Mayor.

Councillor Lee Mason then left the chamber with the retiring Lord Mayor to don the Lord Mayor's robes and the chain of office.

### 30. Investiture of the New Lady Mayoress

Mrs Sylvia Mason, the new Lady Mayoress, was invested with the chain of office, after which she signed a document of office witnessed by the City Solicitor.

### 31. New Lord Mayor takes the Chair

Councillor Lee Mason took the chair and thereupon made and subscribed the Declaration of Acceptance of Office witnessed by the City Solicitor.

### 32. Presentation of the Keys of the City

The Lord Mayor received the Keys of the Fortress of Portsmouth presented to him by Warrant Officer Marcus Daniels.

## 33. Presentation of the Portsmouth Sword

The Lord Mayor received the Portsmouth Sword presented to him by Sub-Lieutenant Kilgallon.

## 34. The Lord Mayor returns thanks to the Council

The Lord Mayor thanked members of the Council for his election. He played a video and spoke about his chosen charities for the year ahead.

## 35. Appointment of the Deputy Lord Mayor for the ensuing Municipal Year

Councillor Gerald Vernon-Jackson nominated Councillor David Fuller as the Deputy Lord Mayor for the ensuing municipal year. This nomination was seconded by Councillor Hugh Mason.

There being no other nominations, the Lord Mayor put the proposal, which was CARRIED unanimously and he declared Councillor David Fuller duly elected as the Deputy Lord Mayor and he made and subscribed the Declaration of Acceptance of Office. This was witnessed by the City Solicitor. The Chief Executive said that Councillor David Fuller would be supported by his Deputy Lady Mayoress, Mrs Leza Tremorin. The Deputy Lady Mayoress then made and subscribed a document undertaking to support the Deputy Lord Mayor in carrying out his official duties which was witnessed by the City Solicitor.

# 36. Appointment of Chaplain to the City Council

Pastor Dan Harman was appointed as Chaplain to the City Council.

## 37. Announcement of Civic Awards

The Lord Mayor advised that Civic Award recipients this year were David Baynes, Kate Pickles, Rachael Ross, and Ms Amba Tremain and Mr Charlie Fletcher jointly on behalf of the Urban Vocal Group.

Youth Civic Awards were awarded to Adam Bolderson and Lewis Hine.

The Lord Mayor advised that the awards would be presented at a separate ceremony.

The meeting adjourned at 11.30 am, to be reconvened no earlier than 2.30 pm.

.....

Lord Mayor